Cauliflower Macaroni and Cheese

I tried mashed cauliflower a while ago and really enjoyed it-both on its own as well as cut with a potato in it as well. Cauliflower is low in calories (29 calories in a one cup serving), high in vitamin C and K as well as has anti-inflammatory, anti-oxidant and cardiovascular benefits (source). If you like reading nutritional information in chart form, look at this link

Unfortunately I haven’t found myself making mashed cauliflower all that often. When I make it, I typically make mushroom gravy and tofu to go along with it, but lately haven’t found myself craving it. And, I think it tastes better warm, but right now my schedule is so hectic that if I make something for dinner, I want it to work for on the go lunches as well. That led me to experiment with adding cauliflower to my macaroni, broccoli and cheese recipe, which I have been making rather often. The result? I think it dims the flavor of the cheese sauce a bit, so I end up adding extra ingredients at the end to give it a little more ompf, but I think it is a great addition and helps get it more servings of vegetables into an otherwise carb dense meal.

I rarely measure anything when making my cheese sauce, but it goes something along the lines of this:

1 tbsp Earth Balance

1 tbsp flour*

¼ cup nutritional yeast

1-2 tsp mustard powder

½ cup unsweetened almond milk

Dash of soy sauce or Braggs

Dash of paprika

1 cup steamed cauliflower

½ cup or more Daiya cheddar cheese (optional)

Instructions:

Melt Earth Balance in a sauce pan. Once melted, add flour and stir until smells nutty, about 5 minutes. Turn heat down to low and pour in almond milk. Stir to remove clumps of flour. Add in the rest of the ingredients. Start with 1 tsp mustard and adjust as needed. Put steamed cauliflower in a blender and pour sauce over. Blend until smooth. Pour back into sauce pan, taste and add additional ingredients as needed.  The cauliflower blends up nice and creamy, but does dilute the flavor a bit.

I am not a huge mustard fan, and omitted it for the longest time. After reading it on the ingredients list of recipe after recipe I figured I would try it. And it added one of the flavors I have been missing this entire time!

My current favorite way to use this sauce is to pour it over orchetti pasta with steamed broccoli.

*I think that the flour could probably be omitted if using steamed cauliflower.

One thought on “Cauliflower Macaroni and Cheese

  1. Pingback: New Go To Meal List | calcoastfoodie

Leave a Reply

