Mashed Cauliflower and Tofu

Cauliflower for some reason is not high on my vegetable radar. Not sure why. Maybe because the bright colors of bell peppers, zucchini and carrots always win me over, and by the time I roll my cart past the cauliflower it is already full?

Anyways, I’ve been craving potatoes lately. Plain old russet potatoes. which eventually leads to a craving of mashed potatoes and tofu. This time mashed cauliflower, mashed sweet potato and tofu.

Chop up cauliflower and put it in a pot of boiling water. Boil for about 5-7 minutes, until cauliflower is soft. Drain water (I dumped mine in a pot of vegetable broth I was making). Transfer into food processor and puree. I added in sautéed onions and garlic as well as green onions, but those are optional. The result? A lighter tasting mashed potato!

Mine is green because I went a little crazy with green onions

Mine is green because I went a little crazy with green onions

Tofu: Slice up some extra firm tofu. Open your spice cabinet, and dump all the contents in a bowl. Stir, through in tofu.

IMG_9984

For this tofu, I added in soy sauce, garlic powder and a little sesame seed oil. I let it marinade for about 30 minutes, then cooked in on a frying with a little olive oil.

Sweet Potatoes: Boil sweet potatoes (I left the skin on), through into food processor. Add in onion and garlic (noticing a pattern yet?)

Gravy: I love mushroom gravy, but this time had to settle for onion. I started by sautéing ½ a white onion until soft, then added a few tablespoons of flour on and cooked to make a roux. Cook until browned. Add in 2 cups of vegetable broth, and about a tablespoon of soy sauce. Let it simmer until thick. Add more vegetable broth if needed.

Vegan mashed cauliflower, sweet potato and tofu

Leave a Reply

