Meal Planning Week Two/Shopping List

Meal Planning Week Two/Shopping List

Recap on last week: Pretty good, but after a not so great experience with Trader Joe’s Peanut Satay, I bailed on making my own peanut noodles (I thought the Trader Joe’s one’s were too oily and it made me feel sort of sick afterwards. Plus, for 500 calories, it should have tasted like Asian gold. Other than that, I made the meals I planned on.

I usually don’t really plan for weekend meals. I typically eat a lot of them with my boyfriend, and it ends up being just throw together whatever leftovers are in a fridge. This weekend it was more pizza and looooots of salad. Last night was my first attemt at making bread in a dutch oven. It blew me away how good and easy it was to make. It tasted like bought bakery bread with a thick, crunch crust. I sauted onions, mushrooms and zucchini together with balsalmic vinegar and wine to eat with the bread.

I am going to try to make one new recipe a week. We’ll see how that goes. This week I am thinking vegan taquitos.  They have been on my mind for weeks now. I’ve got saladed-out in the last few weeks, but after a really good super food salad and pizza binge this weekend, I think I’m ready to devour a ton of them again.

Meals:

Breakfasts: Oatmeal, tofu scramble

Lunch: soup, taquitos, salad

Dinner: soup, taquitos, salad

Snacks: beet salad, smoothie, leftover cookies,

Shopping list by meal. Items in bold=on the shopping list

Salad: lettuce, spinach, bell peppers, cucumber, celery, carrots, pomegranates, sunflower seeds and almonds.

Taquitos: soyrizo, tofu, Daiya cheese, mushrooms, bell peppers, onion, salsa

Soup: It finally feels like fall on the Central Coast, so soup time here I come! Split pea? Lentil? I have all kinds of dried beans sitting in my cupboard just waiting to be cooked up with a plethora of vegetables.

Bread: experiment around.

Tofu scramble: I’m not sure how good this will be as a pre-work breakfast, but we shall see. Tofu, soyrizo (I had it for the first time last weekend and was actually pretty impressed), mushrooms, bell peppers, onion

Beet Salad: Kale

Leave a Reply

