An Average Shopping Trip

An Average Shopping Trip

Unfortunately vegan shopping where I live tends to involve multiple grocery stores. Two of my main ones are conveniently located right next to each other, but the local health food store is a few miles away. That one is expensive, so it’s usually more like a monthly journey for bulk stuff or Daiya cheese.  In an ideal world, everything I buy would be organic, as local as possible and bought from local stores. The real world? I live on an extremely tight budget, and local produce tends to trump organic produce (which around here is usually from Mexico), but I do what I can.

It seems like I spend an hour just prepping for a weekly grocery store run. Considering I buy pretty much the same things every time, and make similar meals each week, it is time for that to change.

Food for Less:                                                                    

-Bell peppers

-Onions

-Dried beans

-Tortillas

-Oatmeal

-Tortillas

-Baking supplies (monthly re-stock)

Trader Joe’s:

-Almond milk

-tofu

-coffee

-spinach

-cabbage

-Almond butter (monthly-ish)

-salad dressings (I like making my own, but I am currently pretty obsessed with the sesame soy ginger vinaigrette)

One of the many beauties of living on the central coast of California is the long growing seasons! I have friends who supply me with citrus, avocados and corn.

Currently growing in my garden: tomatoes, beets, basil, spinach, lettuce, bell peppers and egg plant (but since it is pretty much November, I am not holding my breath on those ones)

This is my first time having a garden. I got a little excited, and started tomatoes in February. I’ve have more fresh, yummy tomatoes than I know what to do with since June!

Always on hand-restock as needed

-dried beans, lentils

-canned beans (black and refried)

-canned tomato

-tomato sauce

-almonds

-sunflower seeds

-rice

-quinoa

-a can or two of soup

-a bag of frozen vegetables

-a few veggie burgers

-flax seed

-nutritional yeast

-coffee and tea

-baking supplies (flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, yeast, etc)

-noodles (rice noodles for Asian dishes, pasta for spaghetti or macaroni and cheese)

-spices

Splurge items (I know there are more that I am forgetting…)

-Prepared meals

-Trader Joe’s Hummus (I think they put crack in it. Only explanation for why I can never get mine to taste like that)

-Coconut water

One thought on “An Average Shopping Trip

  1. Pingback: This Week in Meal Planning « calcoastfoodie

Leave a Reply

