Basic Cookie Recipe

I swear I don’t have as big of a sweet tooth as this site may lead you to believe… The majority of what I made doesn’t really have directions to go with them-it’s more throw stuff in a few pots and pans and eat it. Some of them taste the same every time, some of them  don’t. My goal is to eventually have them all written down, mainly because I sometimes go months forgetting about a food that I do really like, and that works well for lunches (like pot pies. I made it halfway through writing down how I made one this afternoon, and then I started tinkering and gave up).

But back to cookies. I like super chewy cookies, but I have had trouble getting the right texture, tend to end up not liking it that much and then stop making cookies for the rest of the year. I try a recipe, write it down on a scrap of paper which I find three months later and throw away. This one gets pretty close, but still not as chewy as I like. After reading some other vegan cookie blogs I see that oil could be the solution to this. The one time I tried that I ended up with the worlds greasiest cookies (they did taste pretty damn good, but I haven’t had it in me to try it again. So

Basic Cookie Recipe

  • 2 cups flour (I usually use a blend involving wheat, white, almond, rice and oatmeal)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance
  • 1 cup sugar (I tend to go 75% brown sugar, 25% white sugar)
  • 1 egg substitute
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp non-dairy milk

Mix-ins: chocolate chips, coconut flakes, cranberries, sunflower seeds, walnuts, pecans etc. I do different combinations of the mix ins (coconut and chocolate chips are the norm). I add usually about 1/2-3/4 cup of mix ins.

One thought on “Basic Cookie Recipe

  1. Pingback: Meal Planning Week Two/Shopping List « calcoastfoodie

Leave a Reply

