Vegan Pumpkin Cheese Cake

Original recipe: http://vegetarian.about.com/od/desertrecipes/r/pumpheesecake.htm

I followed this recipe for the most part, but made a few changes.

Recipe:

1 12 ounce package silken tofu

1 8 ounce container Tofutti vegan cream cheese

1 1/4 cup canned pumpkin

3/4 cup sugar

2 tbsp flour

2 tbsp ENR-G Egg replacer (flax seed wold also work)

1 tsp cinnamon

dash salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 pie crust (I made a graham cracker one)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. In a food processor, combing all ingredients and blend until smooth. Adjust sweetness and spices as needed. Bake at 350 for about an hour.

Notes: I made substitutions to the original recipe based on a whim, and past recipes. I added ~1/4 cup more pumpkin to increase pumpkin flavor and decreased sugar to 3/4 cup. I was worried it would not hold together well, so I used 2 tbsp flour and 2 tbsp ENR-G egg replacer (flax seed would also work). The only spice I added was cinnamon, but only because I didn’t have the other spices. It tasted better the next day-the tofu absorbed the flavors better, and everything had time to firm up.

Would I make it again? I would use it as a base. The nurtional value is not so pretty, mainly because of the graham cracker crust and Tofutti. Maybe adding a little lemon would allow for less Tofutti to be used, while still getting the cheesy tang. Other recipes used cashew cream, but I haven’t had any luck with that. Next time I wold like to mess around with an oatmeal/almond meal crust.

Leave a Reply

