The Go To Breakfast Oatmeal

The Go To Breakfast Oatmeal

I am relatively new to the world of oatmeal, and am quite mad that it took me this long (that would have been the perfect companion to the dried rice and beans of college…I want to calculate the cost of this meal. I bet it’s about $0.50 a serving). I do believe my new found love for oatmeal is because of my new utter obsession with almond butter.  My job keeps me very active during the day, and there are times when being able to carry around a lot of food is not really an option, so I started searching for the breakfast with the most bang for the buck. Enter the

Almond Butter Banana Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • ½ banana
  • 1/3 cup old fashioned oatmeal
  • Almond butter
  • Almond milk (optional. But why oh why would you leave it out??)
  • Sweetener (optional)

Directions: Add water to a pot. While it is heating, mash the banana with a fork, and add it to the water. Stir it around and break up any pieces (I’m not a fan of bananas. The possible explanation is briefly explained here), unless those banana pieces float your boat. Once the water has started to boil, add in the oatmeal and cook and oats are ready. I like my oatmeal pretty runny, so this recipe has a bit more water than the box calls for. Pour oatmeal into bowl. Or, into your Official Oatmeal Transporter if you like to eat it at work like I do. Add in a tablespoon of almond butter and stir. Add a sweetener if you want it. Douse in almond milk. Or better yet, in this

3 thoughts on “The Go To Breakfast Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: calcoastfoodie

  2. Pingback: Meal Planning Week Two/Shopping List « calcoastfoodie

  3. Pingback: New Go To Meal List | calcoastfoodie

Leave a Reply

