Basic Pizza Dough

Pizza is one of my go to favorite foods. As a vegan pizza, I do not see it as a junk food. I typically mess around with the flour-adding varying amounts of whole wheat flour, vital wheat gluten etc and I pile it full of vegetables.

Whole wheat + flax + white flour dough, marinara sauce, olives, mushrooms, bell peppers, onions and both Cheddar and Mozzarella Daiya cheese.

Whole wheat + flax + white flour dough, marinara sauce, olives, mushrooms, bell peppers, onions and both Cheddar and Mozzarella Daiya cheese (ignore the gross grout in my tiles)

Basic Dough Recipe:

I don’t follow an exact recipe for this. Instead, I go based on how the dough feels, and if I think it might end up making a batch of cinnamon rolls with it also (in that case I will add a tad bit more sugar).

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups warm water
  • 2 tsp yeast
  • ~ 1 TBSP sugar
  • ~1/5-1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 ½ tsp salt
  • 3 cups flour

Start with water that is warm to the touch. Pour into a bowl and add yeast and sugar. Stir it and let it sit until frothy. Add in salt and olive oil. I usually just pour it straight from the bottle, and I’d guess I usually pour in a little less than ¼ cup.

Slowly start stirring in about 3 cups flour. I usually end up using my hands to mix it by the end. Once it is tacky, but not all wet and sticky, stop adding flour. Grease a new bowl with olive oil, put the dough in it and make sure all of the dough is covered in oil, otherwise it will dry out. At this point you can put it into a 1 gallon plastic bag instead of the bowl to save for another day. This dough tends to develop more flavor the longer it sits. I like adding a little vital wheat gluten (about 1 tbsp) to improve elasticity of the dough.  I also sometimes add in some pumpkin to the dough and decrease the water content, based on this recipe from Neverhomemaker.

Toppings:

-bell pepper

-onions

-olives

-mushrooms

-zucchini

-some sort of cheese (Daiya is a surprisingly good one that doesn’t stay cemented to the roof of your mouth like some other ones).

I have experimented with different ways of cooking it and haven’t noticed a big difference. Sometimes I roll it out, put it on a cookie sheet and bake it for about 5 minutes at 500F, then pull it out and assemble the pizza. I like using a cast iron skillet, but that makes a pretty small pizza. I do have a pizza stone, but I don’t like how long it needs to preheat in the oven for. I am a bit obsessed with energy/water conservation, and my oven uses a lot of energy…Overall, I think the cast iron gives the best crust, but not the best quantity (unless you are lucky enough to have an awesome cast iron griddle…)

caramelized onions, mushrooms, homemade sundried tomatoes, artichoke hearts, sunflower seeds and Daiya cheese

On the pizza in the photo above I actually experimented with a dough recipe that didn’t call for olive oil. I thought the book had made an error. But, I had tried the dough the night before when a roommate made it and thought it was better than my dough, so I used his recipe book. I’m still on the fence. This one has a different texture, I think. The boyfriend didn’t notice. I think a side by side comparison might be necessary…

 

2 thoughts on “Basic Pizza Dough

  1. Pingback: calcoastfoodie

  2. Pingback: New Go To Meal List | calcoastfoodie

Leave a Reply

